Posted by: Reginald Cyntje | March 31, 2009

When I Think Of Beauty, I Think Of A Woman…

When I think of beauty, I think of a woman. Well let me give you a little background. I’m the only boy and eldest out of four kids. I grew up in a household of primarily women. My father and I were the minority amongst my mother and my three sisters. My mother was a very liberal woman. She walked around the house naked. This created a comfort within me of the female body from a young age. Being a big brother of three younger sisters, my job was to look out for them as well as keep them entertained (this meant learning dozens of hand games). Changing diapers, plaiting my sisters’ hair, listening to their concerns was part of my daily routine. As they grew, I was being educated on the making of women. Each one, around the age 11, 12, or 13, started experiencing their monthly. They all handled it differently. I directly or indirectly observed when the boyfriend stage began. From innocence to complexity, their approach into matters of the heart and life in general varied. I was sometimes asked for the male perspective or older sibling advice. They grew and I learned.

My mother told me stories of her childhood and my sisters shared info about the experiences they were having. It all amazed me. My mother believed in the philosophy that a man should know how to cook, clean, and wash his ass. He should be independent, this way when he has a woman in his life it is because he wants her there not because he needs her to cook his food or clean house.

My three sisters and my mom are responsible for my great love and respect for women. As I grew from a little boy into a man, I observed women closely (no…not in magazines). I was amazed by their strengths, passion, and beauty. Women seemed to me to be the foundation of civilization. Women nurture life inside them before giving birth. Upon birth they can continue to nurture that child through breast milk, cuddling, etc. Women are also leaders, teachers, healers, and more.

The female body is a work of art, but the female mind is astonishing. Women possess the smile that can calm a newborn and save a nation. Our mothers, sisters, aunts, grandmothers, girlfriends, and wives are in my opinion God’s greatest creation. I love and respect women and I always will.

Responses

  1. Lovely! What a great homage for Mother’s Day. Thank you 🙂

  2. Wouldn’t it be great for all men to feel this way about women? We’d have better relationships, marriages, and happier women in this world.

  3. Well said!

  4. It’s men like you with perspectives like this that make being a woman so much more enjoyable.

    Appreciation, admiration and love emanates from this and fills us with the energy to keep going, keep doing and keep being for our communities, our families and ourselves. I honor your purposefulness in writing this and thank you for sharing it with the world so others can learn and hopefully adapt it.

    As said by a humbly relieved woman to her new found love, “how beautiful you must be to see the beauty in me…”


Leave a Reply

Categories

