Posted by: Reginald Cyntje | June 3, 2009

The Meeting

…my eyes met hers and our souls connected before we expressed words. I didn’t know her name but I knew her. Her spirit. I asked a friend a question and he replies but I don’t think I heard anything he said because I was mesmorized by her presence. She wasn’t wearing anything revealing. She didn’t need to because there was something about her that drew me in. Her charisma? Her energy?

She was beautiful. Her inner spirit shined through everything she did. Her walk…confident and self assured. Her smile…sincere. Her eyes were filled with that thing that makes you say ‘I Do’, ‘I Will’, ‘I Must’. She had beautiful eyes but I was more interested in what they revealed about her soul.

It was weeks before we exchanged numbers. We saw each other periodically and laughed in the company of others. One day we exchanged info, once we did we talked constantly. I was delighted with her intellect, her passion, her dreams, her voice, her style. We connected. We shared. We revealed the good and bad of our past. We consoled and uplifted each other as stories were told.

Our dreams were expressed. It is said that if you listen closely, you can learn a lot about a person in the first five minutes of conversation. I listened! I learned more than could be imagined. I enjoyed her beautiful spirit. Her smile melted my heart.

Sometimes people put their best foot forward. They put on a show until you see the real person after the newness has past. She was herself. No show. No game…So refreshing. She was real with no artificial flavoring and that made her sexy. Her flavor? Sincerity!

There was no fad about her. She wasn’t trying to be someone else. She was comfortable with herself. I listened to her talk about her love for people and how she wanted to help society. What she thought about family and relationships was articulated with finesse. She learned from her mistakes and embraced the future. She was a light spirit living a human life.

One night, the kiss…lovers of past lives connect deeply because the souls remember. When we kissed, our embrace felt familiar and new. I felt her soul smile. The more we kissed the more I wanted to kiss her. I squeezed her gently and it felt like she did the same. I was lost in her ocean of beauty, promise, excitement, passion, experience. We knew what we wanted to do but didn’t. We said… Good Night.

Responses

  1. Lovely…is this a real experience? I think this is what everyone is searching for…to be loved n known for what they really are from the start. No false images that will eventually disappoint. this one touched my heart…

    Keep writing ur style is unique n I really enjoy it!

    Lia

  2. what a beautiful DREAM!:) 🙂 may all of your sweet dreams come true. your writing is off the wall! that story was good and sexy…keep up the good work, sir.

  3. yes, for real…that story was good as shi*! destiny…you need to submit it to essence magazine. mark my words. from your friend and supporter, dll

  4. *wipes forehead* WOW. Please please please tell me this is true and not fiction. Your visual descriptions makes me want more more and more!! 🙂 thank you for sharing your gift of the written word with us!!

  5. When moments like this are experienced, they are kinetic, 4-dimensional and as real as life can and should be.

    As always ~ thank you.

  6. did SHE finish your sentences? did SHE make you feel like a KING? and did YOU soften her blows with your self control?

  7. reginald cyntje “thinks sincere connections R rare & should be cherished. What do U think?”

    i think, i am connected to God; i am connected to you. i am connected to my family and my beloved circle of souls. i cherish my sincere connections; they are plentiful. in fact, far from being rare. i open up my heart to receive the “natural” connections of my fellow man, because…

    “God sat down on the side of a hill where he could think; by a deep, wide river he sat down; with his head in his hands, God thought and thought, till he thought: i’ll make me a man!

    up from the bed of the river God scooped the clay; And by the bank of the river He kneeled him down; And there the great God Almighty Who lit the sun and fixed it in the sky, Who flung the stars to the most far corner of the night, Who rounded the earth in the middle of his hand; This Great God, Like a mammy bending over her baby, Kneeled down over a lump of clay Till he shaped it in his own image;

    Then into it he blew the breath of life, and man became a living soul. amen. amen.”—given to dana l. lawrence by james weldon johnson

    • you write the way i think and feel. i am honored to know you. your words are simply; yet, so deep and moving. your writing style is refined, plain and cool. your words are jumping off the page; into my soul, refreshing air is blown. the love of GOD is shown.—danallawrence

  8. SUPER READINGS…..KEEP WRITING AND I WILL KEEP READING. THANKS FOR SHARING

  9. … and then what happened?

  10. Wow, I have to say that all of your writings are insightful, but as a writer, this is one that touches me more, it flows so well & the experience goes beyond time & space. its too bad most men are not as genuine & sincere as the man in your reminiscence.

  11. very nice 🙂 this is a great intro for me to your writing

  12. Amazing…you are!

  13. This is absolutely beautiful, it reminds me a lot of the experience I had with my best friend when he and I first met. This left me speechless! Amazing job Reginald!


Leave a Reply

Categories

