Posted by: Reginald Cyntje | June 5, 2009

Imagination

I sit in the library nervous that I am about to take a standardized test. Why? I don’t know. Test taking skills are discussed prior to testing. Ok, here we go “Reading Comprehension”…I begin reading the story for the test and my mind wonders. I start creating back stories for the story that I read. The characters begin to develop and different endings pop into my head. The question is asked at the end of the story and I waste time thinking “What answer do they want” because I can see so many scenarios from this story in my mind. How do I explain a vivid imagination?

As a kid I would walk into a dark room and I become frightened and excited. Everything in the room would take on new shape and I sensed a presence that was not there during the day or with the light on at night. The mysticism of the unknown intrigued me.

I enjoy going to the beach, the clear blue skies. Blue inviting ocean water so clear you can see 5, 10, 15 ft below. The way the treasures in the sand feel at my feet. The ocean breeze on my face while swimming and listening to the meditative sound of water splashing, waves flowing, laughter and music. Under water again fishes swim by my face. I try to see where they went but they disappeared as I reached for one. This ocean is vast, unlimited, humbling. I am receiving pleasure in this healing source and resting place for lives lost. My mind wonders about triumphs and tribulations experienced in the ocean.

I step on stage. We play the melody and now it is time for the spontaneous composition/improvisation. I have spent hours practicing. I know different melodic phrases that will work. My mind is racing. The tenor sax player just took an amazing solo, now the trumpet player is playing. I am anxious. Then I remember a mentor saying “Still your mind” and I did. I began feeling the vibration in the room. The smell, the music, the atmosphere, the people, the horn…My body moves from side to side. My eyes closed. I feel high, inspired. There is something/someone that places the horn to my mouth. When my turn came, I let all my senses take over. My imagination creates beauty. The audience loved it.

When I am imaginative my improvised solos inspire when I am not they might just impress.

There is nothing new under the sun just different perceptions throughout time. My personal discoveries make my life exciting. The possibilities become endless with my imagination. Life exists in all things with a vivid imagination. Love creates harmony, which manifest beauty. Can you see it?

Responses

  1. I’m in awe of the fact that u can reach…the sweet spot so easily. For me nerves r a major issue…i think too much…seems like i need to focus on reaching the stillness.

  2. “When I am imaginative my improvised solos inspire when I am not they might just impress.”–r cyntje

    i do not uunderstand. clarify for me please.

    I MUST BE DREAMING…
    i wrote this really detailed and thoughtful message and for some odd reason it would not post.

    i just want to let you know that i am in harmony with you. MUSIC is the key to my panting heart.
    your awesome message is therapy to my anxious soul. I will practice stillness. thank you my friend.

  3. Yes, I can picture it. I remember watching you play with our high school jazz band time and time again. And just as you described you would rock to the music as you awaited your moment and just before your turn you would close your eyes and get lost in the music and bless us with your talent. When you played you hushed the crowd and made the room stand still. Keep Imaging, Keep Inspiring. Peace and Love, Beranice

  4. As a person with zero imagination–I envy you!! Fortunately, one of the advantages of having no imagination is the enjoyment that comes from interacting with those that do.

    Thank you for your words. They are indeed inspiring.

  5. Hey Brother,
    Taking a break from Facebook, because I realized that I had become undisciplined spiritually. That sort of strength that you speak of for me comes from the word of God. As person thinketh so he is. I guess some people use affirmations I use scripture.

    Philippians 4:6
    Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.

    My new scripture that I am meditating on is Create in me a clean heart and renew a steadfast spirit.

    Sometimes we need to go back and abide to prepare for the next battle. Be Blessed

  6. This has a new meaning after seeing you play with Don…so all of that is going through your head ? I forget sometimes about how emotionally vulnerable an artist can be on stage..Clarity of soulful vision I desire as I try to heal the pain of my spiritual astigmatism…Perception is key to creating new relationships..but what can one do when blinded fighting in a room of angels and demons ? Perhaps quiet the power in our tongue so we don’t give life to things that would harm us.0


Leave a Reply

Categories

