Posted by: Reginald Cyntje | December 23, 2009

Space…

Music and relationships are very similar. They both require space.

As I began playing my solo on the band stand, someone whispered “don’t forget to use space.” Notes, dynamics and rests (space) create music. I guess similar things are needed in other aspects of life.

Over time I learned what notes sounded great over different chords and how modes (scales)inspired emotions. Substituting the notes for words and the modes for my moods, I learned how my attitude affected my environment. Having a positive mood and choosing powerful words created better surroundings.

In communicating, we have to know when to speak and when not to. Balance, I guess, is key in relationships. Using our senses we can pick up on energy and make the right choice. The more skilled we are at communicating the better music we create…together.

Responses

  1. Music warms the heart and soothes the soul. I always find my way back to “me” through song…


Leave a Reply

Categories

