Posted by: Reginald Cyntje | January 18, 2010

Jazz

I listen…
“It’s Killing.”

I love the sound,
the journey,
the reality.

I love
every time
I listen
I learn something new.
I love that there is a new awareness
for every stage of my life.

Jazz
filled with the history
of a people
of a nation.
Intelligent and common?
Jazz is multidimensional.

I love the creativity.
The spontaneous composition.
Like life,
there is no eraser present,
just lessons learned
to inspire the next choice.

The imagination ignites
with each phrase
sparking new genres
and humble to learn
from its offspring. Jazz…

I love the emotions expressed.
The depth of the artist emoting the spirit’s intent.
Exposed experiences,
desires, pain, joy emanating.
Black American Music
international appeal
soothing humanity.

The notes,
the silence,
the communication
always present.
Poetic tones
and noetic stimulation.

The Tranes explored.
The Miles traveled.
Fitzgerald’s scats.
JJ’s trombone.
Ms. Holiday’s sorrow.
The vintage Vaughn
that goes perfectly with wine and a kiss.

From the ancestors to my ears to my horn…Jazz

Responses

  1. Wonderful how we can keep them all alive the the memories of their musical messages. Paying tribute through song…

  2. Wonderful how we can keep them all alive the the memories of their musical messages. Paying tribute through song… dance, lyric and creative intention.


Leave a Reply

Categories

