Posted by: Reginald Cyntje | February 6, 2010

Bob Marley

I was a little kid when I heard “Buffalo Soldier.” I remember singing “Buffalo Soldier…Dred Locks Rasta” the rest of the lyrics were me mumbling as the message sank in.

As I grew older, I heard “Redemption Song” and the music struck me. Bob Marley took the words from Marcus Garvey singing “Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery” then he continued with “None but ourselves can free our minds.” That song became an anthem for me. Musically, spiritually, emotionally I connected with the vibration expressed.

I’m sure many from the caribbean and the world can relate to the life of Bob Marley. He was an imperfect being singing perfection. Messages about justice and peace. Emphasizing there can’t be peace without justice.

Thank you Bob Marley for blessing us with your spirit, your love, your music. Will Africa Unite? Will we practice One Love? Maybe finally No Woman Nuh Cry…Prophecy?

Today I will take a moment, listen, reflect and enjoy the music of Robert Nesta “Bob” Marley…

Responses

  1. We owe a lot to Bob Marley. My fav song is One Love


Leave a Reply

Categories

