Posted by: Reginald Cyntje | March 24, 2010

A Love Song

I was young when I first heard the sound. I became intoxicated.

Maybe it was the endless love songs I heard as a kid? Maybe it was the first time I heard Marvin Gaye’s “Sexual Healing” at 10 years old? Whatever the reason, the sound of love became an addiction.

The sound of sincerity leaving the lips. Starting with a smile flushed with blood rushing through the body with anticipation. Lips full and tongue vibrating.

The dynamics responsive to the build, nuances of the dance unfolding slowly. The song bird sings. There is no other song I’d rather hear.

Octaves reached some pitches indiscernible but a perfect melody to my ear. I listen to see when the bridge is near. Arpeggios? Runs? More like spontaneous composition inspired by the moment.

The intensity, the heat, the love, the song…we compose together a piece filled with leaps and unchartered bonds. The melody becomes mystical. The body a cacophony? A coraphone providing music that creates life, love, a future…

A Love Song

Leave a Reply

Categories

