Posted by: Reginald Cyntje | January 9, 2011

New Life

Meditation… “With humility and hard work you will rise above the shackles of tradition.”

New life came into me and I began to practice differently…

The guidance I’ve received from brilliant minds has been priceless. During the process of learning and growing, I’ve met some great musicians. The lessons are sinking in and taking shape. They gave me a block of wood to sculpt into my masterpiece. With each day I have the opportunity to chip away at that piece of wood to reveal the beauty within.

Reflection…I began playing trombone because I did not want to be the same as everyone else. An elder told me, “be yourself not somebody else.” I quickly learned being different comes with a price. Not going along with the crowd will cost you in the beginning but at least you have your integrity.

When I began to doubt myself I thought about the first day I put the trombone to my lips. When I began to doubt myself I remembered the Virgin Islands community who supported me and loved the fact that I was serious about playing music. When I began to doubt myself I heard family and friends say don’t give up. The result, new life…

Breathe in…When I feel the spirit of my ancestors, family, friends and community I remember why and new life fills my body. I must fulfill the task they have assigned me with.

The task? To build and inspire community with each note.

Meditation…”With humility and hard work you will rise above the shackles of tradition.”

Exhale…I have a renewed joy in playing my tool of expression. I have a renewed joy in allowing spirit to guide the next note escaping my heart traveling on air through my lips and out the horn making its way to your ear.

Do you feel my sincerity? Do you feel my passion? Do you feel the emotions for love and life within you? Can I inspire you to join me on this journey?

Meditation…”With humility and hard work you will rise above the shackles of tradition.”

New life? Rejuvenation…

Responses

  1. Andy, you have always been an inspiration to many including myself, our support for your musical talent has and always will be never ending. ~Kama


Leave a Reply

Categories

