Posted by: Reginald Cyntje | January 27, 2011

Freedom’s Children – The Celebration

We all begin, learn and hopefully live full lives before we are no more.
Our ancestors paid a great price for us to be here today. We are all Freedom’s Children.

To celebrate my personal journey to freedom, I will be recording my first CD as a bandleader. The process is exciting, daunting and new. Choosing the musicians was easy. Each musician on the album played an important role in my musical development.

I remember having a conversation with a dear friend. We were talking about recording. Some trends have been to hire popular artists to boost sales. The result usually was not what most expected. In my humble opinion, the key to making a good album is being in the company of good musicians with great hearts. Individuals who work well together diminishing egos to create beautiful music. On this album I’m blessed to be in the company of great musicians with big hearts. These musicians have been in the trenches with me. I appreciate each one.

The music represents cultural heritage. I was born on the island of Dominica and raised on the island of St. Thomas, USVI where my earliest memory of music was the sound of Bob Marley’s ‘Buffalo Soldier.’ Growing up in St. Thomas provided me with an eclectic taste in music. As an adult I studied jazz. Nine years ago I began fusing all my experiences into an approach that reflected my heritage. With titles like ‘Ancestors’, ‘Sankofa’ and ‘Peace and Love,’ you can begin to see the vision. ‘Freedom’s Children – The Celebration’ is a tune that came to me at a community event celebrating love, peace, creativity and awareness. It seemed only fitting for this song to be the title track.

On my 35th Circle around the sun, I’m thankful for all the lessons I’ve learned to this point. This album will allow me to express my spirit of activism, community love and uplift others with tone poems.

Freedom’s Children – The Celebration

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

