Posted by: Reginald Cyntje | December 31, 2011

2011 in review

In a state of gratitude…

It has been an amazing year. I began this year with a mission to record my first album. The goal was to record an album that people could enjoy for the art, message, music and cultural relevance. Combining music from the caribbean with jazz and afro beat, children and adults began celebrating to the music on August 23, 2011. The greatest compliment was seeing my children dance and fall in love with the music. I also received stamps of approval from elders/mentors. It is humbling to know Freedom’s Children: The Celebration is in different households in various parts of the world.

The album was created with the help of private funds, community support, loved ones, gifted musicians, a thoughtful co-producer, and great engineers. The end result was magic.

I also spent the year studying subjects outside of music. I’ve never been in school from January to December (nonstop). Many of the subjects I studied prepared me for the social justice fights ahead.

In 2011 I’ve noticed a change in the rites of passage system. Each year it seems that this ancient tradition is depleting. I think in 2012 the elders will put these ‘out of line’ individuals in their place.

Also in 2011, Nicholas Payton received a lot of positive and negative attention for calling jazz BAM (black american music). Why? Well I think we all know the answer to that. I was happy to see that this very gifted musician was taking a stance.

In 2011, many of my friends and associates released albums. I enjoyed many of the artistic releases. I refuse to participate in the rating system and rank these albums. I will say that I heard the personality of the artist in their contribution.

This past year I was happy to see people wake up and stand up for their rights. Since I was a child I’ve fought for social justice and I’ve prayed that the masses do the same. My goal is to assist my USVI brothers and sisters in bringing social justice back to the shores. I’ve lost work due to the things I write and say about my homeland but I’m committed to creating positive change.

2011 was filled with challenges, rewards, discoveries, accomplishments and many lessons. I look forward to diminishing my ego more so 2012 can reveal its blessings.

Thank you for reading. Thank you God for all my blessings in 2011.

Love,

Reginald Cyntje

Leave a Reply

Categories

