Posted by: Reginald Cyntje | July 29, 2012

August 23, 2011

12 A.M.

I was exhausted. My eyes were tired. Frequent breaks from the computer screen were fruitless at this point. Between unaware naps, I knew I had to take care of the updates so every few hours readers would be reminded of the album release throughout the day ahead.

8 A.M.

I’m concerned about the release but jury duty was commanding all my attention; hoping to be finished but the end was nowhere in sight.

1:45 P.M.

We were on a short break. The building began to shake. I thought, “Is that a really big truck?” Then those standing fell to the floor. Screams came from different directions. The officer came in, “We have to evacuate the building now! It’s an EARTHQUAKE!”

There were fears that the building would collapse. Everyone was frantically making calls. The reports were filled with truth and human error. I was unsuccessful contacting family. We could not move from our location and most of us had useless cell phones. After unsuccessfully checking on love ones, I received a text saying, “Now that is how you release an album.” I responded, “LOL!” The text lightened my spirit. I was consumed with the serious nature of my civic duty, my loved ones and concerned about possible damages at home.

My blackberry had poor reception (many cell phone towers were down). Finally! I learned the kids were safe. At this point, I’m no longer thinking about the album.

7 P.M.

That night I got home and learned that only a few plants were knocked over. Unfortunately, my neighbors did not do so well. Then, I sat down at the computer. I saw that many others retweeted my posts on twitter and shared the itunes, amazon and cdbaby links on facebook.

I opened CD Baby and checked the account. I was pleasantly surprised by sales…

TODAY I REFLECT

On August 23, 2011, I released (with the gracious help of crowd funding and the artistic contributions of many artists) Freedom’s Children: The Celebration in what seemed to be a whirlwind of obstacles.

On Thursday August 23, 2012, we will have our anniversary concert at Twins Jazz. We will feature favorites off the debut album and new songs from the (soon to be recorded) sophomore album simply titled “Love.”

I am left giving thanks…

Leave a Reply

Categories

