Posted by: Reginald Cyntje | May 5, 2013

Audience Attendance

When I reflect on audience attendance, I think about various things. Did I promote the gig enough? Should the musicians promote more? Should the establishment invest more? Is the music appealing? What went right /wrong? Am I trying to fit a square peg into a round hole?

Over the years, I’ve performed for packed and empty rooms. I’ve worked with big names and unknowns.  When I became a father, I became less interested in traveling and more focused on being around to enjoy their growth. This creates a challenge…

How do I creatively make a living in my local music market? How do I continue to grow musically?  How do I perform frequently and still excite people about coming out? Should I move back to NYC?  I don’t think I will move back to NYC but the question pops in my mind.

There is a stigma that comes with being local. I do my best to let the music speak for my experience.

Do I have the ability to tour? Yes. Do I want to miss taking little people to school, helping with homework, riding bikes, playing on the playground, witnessing their first, teaching them new things and reading bedtime stories? No… But I am beginning to consider small tours…

Sometimes relationships are such where you can nurture a connection that people love and respect. You can build on that connection and create a bond that never gets stale. Other times, relationships need a break. Individuals have to give the other party a chance to miss them. If not, they will take you for granted…

I try to find a balance with the listening audience. Sometimes they are there and other times they can’t make it but I’m thankful. I’ve been able to perform frequently and receive consistent support from many. The support I receive from people motivates me to keep striving and finding ways to live and perform locally.

Responses

  1. Also it’s hard when the public on some level “because of digital media” feels like art is free. I can just download whatever without supporting artist and the people behind the scenes that work everyday at it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

