Posted by: Reginald Cyntje | August 13, 2013

Artivism: Rebellion for Peace and Justice

Like many other individuals with a heart beating for humanity, I’m saddened by injustice anywhere. What troubles me most is that I live in a place where my children can be mistreated because of the color of their skin. Instead of submitting to the injustice, action is required to change the status quo.

As an artist, I feel compelled to inspire positive change. When I was a child, mentors in my community inspired me. Many of my mentors were artists. I learned from an early age that art is powerful.

This Saturday August 17, 2013 at 7pm, we are hosting an Artistic Rebellion for Peace and Justice at Anacostia Art Gallery & Boutique (2806 BRUCE PLACE SE DC). We will use our art to turn a negative situation into a positive one. We refuse to suffer at the hands of injustice.

We will stand together and raise money for the Trayvon Martin Legal Fund and DC Youth Program.

Art and activism combined…Artivism

Some of the amazing talent gracing this fundraiser include:

Laini Mataka
Olofina
Lasana of BlackNotes
Afi Soul
Luke Stewart
Ká’Bá Soul Singer
Herman Burney
Harold Summey
The Sistah’s – Miyah & Miyeah Dixon
Free Yvette Benjamin
Akua Allrich
Cristian Perez
Sharon Clark
Billy Wilkins
Amber Robles-Gordon
Reginald Cyntje

See you there!

RSVP via Facebook

Leave a Reply

Categories

