Posted by: Reginald Cyntje | February 7, 2015

Remembering Uncle Cisco

My Uncle Francisco Cyntje passed away earlier this week. His love and kindness for family and friends inspired everyone.
uncle cisco
In 1993 on my way to Boston for college, my uncle gave me my first winter coat. It was a blue lined jean jacket that kept me warm for my first winter. In 1995, I stayed in his home for two months while searching for a job in NYC. While in his home, I witnessed his love and kindness for humanity first hand. When I walked with him, he greeted friends and strangers with respect. Every evening was a lesson in life. I cherished our evening conversations. He taught me many lessons (some I was not aware I was learning at the time).

Uncle Cisco taught me about using the subway map as guide while navigating NYC. I remember going to Yonkers for an interview. I had to take extra busses to get to my final destination. On my way back, I ran out of money and made it back to the beginning of the NYC Metro. Remembering what Uncle Cisco told me, I was able to use the NYC Subway map to make it from Yonkers to Seward Ave in the Bronx (a very long walk).

My uncle lived in NYC. As a child growing up in the USVI, my dad always spoke highly of Uncle Cisco. I wish we had more time together but I will always cherish the lessons in life and love. Thank you Uncle Cisco! Rest in peace…

Responses

  1. Accept my heartfelt condolences.

  2. Beautiful.


Leave a Reply

Categories

